More than two centuries ago, in 1786, several members of the Religious Society of Friends inaugurated the school in order to offer academic instruction in a setting that would honor Quaker values. Haddonfield Free School, as they named it, served the children of both Friends and non-Friends, and, in so doing, was the only "public" school in the borough for about 25 years.
In 1786, a one-room brick building on Haddon Avenue, adjacent to the Meeting burial ground, housed the school. Over the years this building has been greatly expanded to accommodate the growing enrollment. Additional classroom space has also been provided at the Meeting House, located on Friends Avenue directly behind the school.
After more than 230 years, Haddonfield Friends School continues to fill a community need as it works "to teach strong academic skills and the understanding that there is 'something of God' in every person."
In the spirit of the Society of Friends, the faculty and staff of Haddonfield Friends School view each child as a unique individual within the group and guide each toward achieving his or her potential, intellectually and socially. A strong community exists at Haddonfield Friends School. Students from all grades, youngest to oldest, interact with one another in various planned activities, and faculty and students together create an atmosphere of cooperation and respect in which all feel a sense of responsibility and worth.